How this all started

My Grammy quilted, I sew.  Growing up she always quilted and I always thought I would learn to do this from her.  By the time I ‘found time’ to learn, she had passed away and I never got the chance.  I did not think too much more about it until I got married.  See my mother-in-law also quilts.  Conversations with her about quilting made no sense to me – I did not understand rotary cutting, assembly, or anything else.

One year for Christmas my mother-in-law bought me a sewing machine.  I had asked for it so was very happy to receive it, I used the machine for a bit, but honestly for the first several years it collected dust.  She also bought me a bunch of quilting tools…these I had no idea what to do with.  I started small – while I was pregnant with my son in 2002 I decided that a baby quilt would be a good project.  I worked with her and she showed me how to piece, how to hand quilt etc.  I got about 7/8ths of the way finished and gave up.  Hand quilting was just NOT for me.

In 2010 I decided to give quilting another chance.  My mother-in-law had also given up hand quilting by then and with the quality of machine quilting available it seemed like the part I hated would no longer be an issue.  With the support (prodding? poking? shoving?) of my boys I completed 8 quilt tops my first year.  Not bad considering I was still working and have a 7 year old at home (not to mention a husband!)

I decided to start this site as a gathering place for all of my ideas, photos of my projects and maybe a little back story on why I made the quilts I did.

Leave a Reply

Families of Breathitt County Kentucky

Once known as "Bloody Breathitt County"

mrsshoppers

Living life, loving life... <3

Doc Brown's Experiments

Wood, Metal and Drinks

Katherines Corner

popular over 50 blogger, diy, giveaways, recipes, blogging tips, family, ageing, faith,life stories,encouragement, home decor shop,jewelry shop, a blog for women of every age

Manic Mama of 3

Making Life Just A Little Less Hectic Together

Mouse Slap

The one-stop place for Disney News directly from the Internet. If it's posted we caught it!!

All Day Disney

Thoughts from my Disney World Obsessed Life- All Disney, All the Time

Dreaming Of....

Writing. Dreaming. Wishing.

Mouze Kateerz

Living, Planning and Photographing Disney Dream

The Quilting Cottage

Custom Quilts & Long-Arm Machine Quilting

Garden2day

From Infinity to Insanity ... or ... From Insanity to Infinity

Mindfield Online Internet Panels

A gathering place for MindField's valued contributors!

Virtual Quilter

A Daily Quilt Design, Virtually

